Taking Water for Granted

I’m on the phone talking with my uncle who is at the hospital fighting for his life. The noise inside my apartment is too loud, so I go out to the front porch where he and I can coherently continue our conversation without interruptions. While on the porch I noticed that my basil tree is starting to dry-up from what I think is lack of water and too much Sunlight. It too is fighting for its life, so I immediately go into emergency mode.

Child drinking clean water from faucetWithout thinking twice, I picked-up a class, turned on the faucet and clean, crystal clear water fills it in seconds, and I provide my herbal plant with the precious liquid it need to slowly come back to life. Right then and there I realized how much I take water for granted; had the faucet failed to dispel its life saving liquid, as it always do, I would have been quite disappointed and my plant may have died of dehydration.

Young woman collecting water from a whole in the ground

young woman collecting water from a dirty dictch

Would you use this water for any reason at all?

This precious, life sustaining liquid is so vital to our existence that without it we would die; yet we continuously takes it for granted while more than 1 billion people around the world has no access to clean water and 5 million die each year of water-borne diseases. We misuse and abuse the abundance of this colorless liquid, failing to contemplate what would happen if it was not so readily available for our countless uses and consumption.

Like most of the people living on Earth, I’m so used to turning on the faucet and brushing my teeth, washing my face or taking long showers with clean fresh water that I take it for granted, never really contemplating where it comes from and how impossible life would be without it.

Honduras, like most developing countries, is facing water shortage that can later become a full-fledged crisis if it’s not dealt with as soon as possible. As citizen of this country we can do our part to prevent this from happening by taking shorter shower, turning off the faucet while brushing our teeth, and filling our classes with just the amount of water we can drink. We should also fix all leaking pipes as well as all dripping faucets.Faucet dripping clean waterMy uncle was placed on a saline solution for hydration while at the hospital and has since recovered from his illness. My basil plant is thriving and providing me and my family with that unique flavor with which it infuses our teas and soups, and I have pledged never to take Earth’s precious, lifesaving water for granted ever again. As the saying goes, you don’t miss the water until the well runs dry, so don’t take water for granted.

Be concerned and conserve water; it’s earth’s most precious natural resource.

 

 

One thought on “Taking Water for Granted

  1. In Utila, we are careful of our water consumption in all the ways that you mentioned. Water is precious on an island and most houses collect rain water by gutters in rain barrels. I’m glad your uncle is feeling better, and your basil, too!

Please Leave a Reply

